Visual Arts Program

Wednesday, July 31, 2013 at 7:00 p.m.

A Mid Summer Night's Draw

Asbury Hall @ Babeville - 341 Delaware Avenue

Alicia Paolucci, from the February 2012 Drawing Rally
It's been such an enthusiastically-received event, it's hard to believe we're only up to the fourth edition. Begun on the leap year date of February 29, 2012, Hallwalls' Mid Winter's Draw was such a success that Buffalo Spree invented a "Most Innovative Fundraiser" award just to recognize its unique properties of fundraising, art, dynamic action, competition among peers, and low-cost fresh art buying options. Organized twice yearly, the February version is augmented by the Mid Summer Night's Draw version in July.

In each rally, 36 artists invited by Hallwalls visual arts curator John Massier draw LIVE in two separate sessions of 45 minutes. Their final drawings are then signed, dated, and put up for immediate silent auction action with a low, low opening bid of $39 across the board. All drawings are produced live on 12 x 18 inch archival sheets of drawing paper. Artists are encourage to utilize any drawing medium short of oils. Invited artists include senior and mid-career artists, emerging artists, and even select student artists, culminating in an exciting and diverse event of feverish art activity.

To get a taste of the action, we recommend you check out this five minute documentary about the first drawing rally:

Each edition of the event includes both returning champs and new contenders, in an effort to adequately represent the diverse range of talent and activity in the WNY region. Our next rally will be Wednesday, July 31, 2013.

Participating artists:

Bruce Adams, Monica Angle, Rita Argen Auerbach, Adrian Bertolone, Marie-Claire Bozant, Joel Brenden, Kyle Butler, Caitlin Cass, Emily Churco, Max Collins, Pete Dako, Phil Durgan, Fotini Galanes, Christopher Galley, Mickey Harmon, Evan Hawkins, Joyce Hill, Tom Holt, Billy Huggins, John Jennings, Mary Johnson, Paul Klonowski, Feliece Koenig, Bethany Krull, Sean Madden, Chris McGee, OGRE, Shasti O'Leary Soudant, Alicia Paolucci, Russell Ram, Jason Seeley, Shasti O'Leary Soudant, Ellen Steinfeld, Kurt Treeby, Adam Weekley, Catherine Willett, Gary Wolfe.